Select Page

People need meaningful data. We are a design agency for the design of data products and for the development of data literacy. Our international customers come from the fields of technology, data science, industry, SMEs and software. Our aim is to make people’s access to data and information understandable and effective.

Design of Dataproducts

Whether text mining, business analytics, IoT sensors, machine learning, small or big data – we make data visible and easy for users to understand. We bring our expertise in data visualization, design, data science, technology and control together and develop data products at the highest level. 

The Designation Academy

Learning data with bad drawings

We impart knowledge and train trainers, users and designers in the areas of design of data products, data competencies, business design in a visual, intuitive and interactive way using among others our Chart Doctor method.

Business Design

BUilding your Business

Companies need and consume oxygen (cash) at all times. It is vital that they generate a surplus from their own resources over the long term. Setting up a company means proceeding step by step without losing sight of oxygen. With many years of expertise in sales, marketing, finance and controlling, we support companies in the technology sector with business development: Our business design Guide helps from the initial growth idea to the development of B2B marketing to the development of a scalable and profitable organization. 

 

“Evelyn Münster and Christoph Nieberding from Designation are certainly among the most interesting pioneers in the growing world of data literacy. They created efficient methods and tools, supported by a deep understanding of the mechanisms of data literacy in business. The Chart Doctor is a great methodology and workshop to deconstruct visualizations and create even better ones, enlightened with strong and clear data skills.

Designation is in the top 5 companies worldwide that can deliver efficient training and consulting on data literacy.”

Charles Nepote

Head of Infolab Campaign, Fing, Frankreich

The Data Design Guide

OUR MethodS

How to develop effective data visualizations? If you only have data and a visualization tool, you won’t get very far. We have a deep understanding of the entire process – from the technical level such as logistics, production or sales to the possibilities of software and data science to the design of visualization. In addition, we know the possibilities and limits of human perception and think and work visually.  

Use Case: Job Candidate Journey

A Figurative Process Analysis

The task: A personnel service provider wanted to improve the approach and interaction with its applicants. But even after all data sources had been integrated, the Business Intelligence Dashboard could not help. The solution: We developed a process-oriented visualization to analyze the applicant processes.

Deconstruct the Business Model

Controlling Workshop 

To work with the right control variables for the development of the company and to have them quickly at hand are key criteria for the success of the company. Too often, technology and software alone are used for this step. However, if the quality is not right at the beginning, nothing valuable can come out of it at the end. We develop the process of business analytics for our customers and make profitability transparent.

Quickly communicate concepts & ideas

Sketchnote Workshop

Today, sketchnotes are one of the most important creative and communication techniques for everyday business. Those who use sketch notes have more fun working in a team and can above all

– communicate complex ideas more quickly,
– structure projects better,
– xommunicate content more effectively.

Designing Data Products

WORKSHOP FOR Designer

How do I design data visualizations that convey complex facts and are easy to read? This is about numeracy, data competence, design thinking, questioning best practices, critical thinking, artificial intelligence, cognitive biases and much more.

Our Network Partner

Law firm for Patent- and IT-Law, München

Data Science Agency, Berlin

Auditor and Tax Consultants, München

Agency for PR and Brand Communication, Duisburg/ Frankfurt/München

Events

Data Literacy Conference
France, Aix-en-Provence, Oktober 2018

Data Geeks Data Day
Munich, November 2017

DataViz Meetup
Munich, Mai 2018

TecTalk @ crossrelations
Duisburg, Juli 2018

Our Engagement

We support the IHK München initiative Pack ma’s digital in order to support the economy in Upper Bavaria with digitisation and to secure the future of the location.

Together with the Munich law firm LLP Law and Patent, we are the initiator and organizer of the Munich Technology Stammtisch for managing directors of medium-sized companies.

Evelyn Münster

With a background in media art and software development, Evelyn Münster has been working as a data visualization designer for more than a decade. She is of the opinion that the abilities of people and organizations in the field of data competence are all too often a limiting factor for the added value of her work. In 2016, she initiated the first scientifically based Data Literacy Skill Test. She has been an international data visualization expert since 2014, helping technology clients develop complex data products, often based on machine learning, such as control and decision systems, tools and dashboards.

Christoph Nieberding

As a practitioner, Christoph Nieberding spent his management career in the technology and software industry until 2013, repeatedly questioning data quality, the limits of analysis tools and the existing possibilities of visual communication. He has extensive knowledge of business processes and various management functions in the areas of finance, sales, risk management and business development. His passion is to increase the value of visual, data-based communication, design complex data products and qualify people and communities in the field of data literacy and visual work.

Seite auswählen

Menschen brauchen Daten mit Bedeutung. Wir sind eine Design-Agentur für die Gestaltung von Datenprodukten und für die Entwicklung von Datenkompetenzen (Data Literacy). Unsere internationalen Kunden kommen aus den Bereichen Technologie, Data Science, Industrie, KMU und Software. Unser Anspruch ist es, für Menschen den Zugang zu Daten und Informationen verständlich und wirkungsvoll zu gestalten. 

Design von Datenprodukten

Ob Text Mining, Business Analytics, IoT-Sensoren, Machine Learning, Small oder Big Data – wir machen Daten sichtbar und für die Anwender leicht verständlich. Wir bringen unsere Expertisen in Datenvisualisierung, Design, Data Science, Technologie und Steuerung zusammen und entwickeln Datenprodukte auf höchstem Niveau.

The Designation Academy

Learning data with bad drawings

Wir vermitteln Wissen und trainieren Trainer, Anwender und Designer in den Bereichen Design von Datenprodukten, Datenkompetenzen, Business Design auf visuelle, intuitive und interaktive Art und nutzen dabei unter anderem unsere Chart Doctor Methode.

Business Design

Unternehmen aufbauen

Unternehmen brauchen und verbrauchen jederzeit Sauerstoff (Cash). Lebenswichtig ist, dass sie auf Dauer einen Überschuss aus eigener Kraft erwirtschaften. Ein Unternehmen aufbauen heißt schrittweise vorgehen und dabei den Sauerstoff nicht aus den Augen zu verlieren. Mit langjähriger Fachexpertise aus den Bereichen Vertrieb, Marketing, Finanzen und Controlling unterstützen wir Unternehmen im Technologiesektor mit Business Development: Unser Business Design Guide™ hilft von der ersten Wachstumsidee über den Aufbau der B2B-Vermarktung bis zur Entwicklung einer skalierenden und ertragreichen Organisation. 

„Evelyn Münster and Christoph Nieberding from Designation are certainly among the most interesting pioneers in the growing world of data literacy. They created efficient methods and tools, supported by a deep understanding of the mechanisms of data literacy in business. The Chart Doctor is a great methodology and workshop to deconstruct visualizations and create even better ones, enlightened with strong and clear data skills.

Designation is in the top 5 companies worldwide that can deliver efficient training and consulting on data literacy.“

Charles Nepote

Head of Infolab Campaign, Fing, Frankreich

The Data Design Guide

Unsere Methoden

Wie entwickelt man wirkungsvolle Datenvisualisierungen? Wer nur Daten und ein Visualisierungstool hat, kommt nicht sehr weit. Wir haben ein tiefes Verständnis über den gesamten Prozess – vom der fachlichen Ebene wie Logistik, Produktion oder Vertrieb über die Möglichkeiten von Software und Data Science bis zur Gestaltung von Visualisierung. Darüber hinaus kennen wir die Möglichkeiten und Grenzen menschlicher Wahrnehmung und denken und arbeiten visuell. 

Use Case: Job Candidate Journey

A Figurative Process Analysis

Die Aufgabe: Ein Personaldienstleister wollte die Ansprache und Interaktion mit seinen Bewerbern verbessern. Aber auch nach der Integration aller Datenquellen konnte das Business Intelligence Dashboard nicht weiterhelfen. Die Lösung: Wir haben eine prozessorientierte Visualisierung zur Analyse der Bewerberprozesse entwickelt. 

Deconstruct the Business Model

Controlling-Workshop 

Mit den richtigen Steuergrößen für die Entwicklung des Unternehmens zu arbeiten und diese schnell zur Hand zu haben sind Schlüsselkriterien für den Unternehmenserfolg. Zu häufig wird für diesen Schritt allein auf Technologie und Software gesetzt. Falls zu Beginn die Qualität jedoch nicht stimmt, kann zum Schluss nichts Wirksames herauskommen. Wir erschließen für unseren Kunden die Leistungsprozesse und machen Wirtschaftlichkeit transparent.

Schnell Konzepte & Ideen vermitteln

Sketchnote Workshop

Sketchnotes gehören heute zu den ganz wesentlichen Kreativ- und Kommunikationstechniken für den betrieblichen Alltag. Wer Sketchnotes nutzt, hat mehr Spaß bei der Teamarbeit und kann vor allem

– komplexe Ideen schneller vermitteln,
– Projekte besser strukturieren,
– Inhalte wirksamer kommunizieren.

Designing Data Products

WORKSHOP Für Designer

Wie gestalte ich Datenvisualisierungen, die komplexe Sachverhalte vermitteln und dabei einfach lesbar sind? Hier geht es um Numeracy, Datenkompetenz, Design Thinking, Hinterfragen von Best Practices, Critical Thinking, Künstliche Intelligenz, Cognitive Biases und vielem mehr.

Unsere Netzwerk-Partner

Kanzlei für Patent- und IT-Recht, München

Data Science Agentur, Berlin

Wirtschaftsprüfung und Steuerberatung, München

Agentur für PR und Markenkommunikation, Duisburg, Frankfurt, München

Events

Data Literacy Conference
France, Aix-en-Provence, Oktober 2018

Data Geeks Data Day
München, November 2017

DataViz Meetup
München, Mai 2018

TecTalk @ crossrelations
Duisburg, Juli 2018

Unser Engagement

Wir unterstützen die IHK-Initiative Pack ma’s digital, um die Wirtschaft in Oberbayern bei der Digitalisierung zu unterstützen und die Zukunft des Standorts zu sichern.

Wir sind gemeinsam mit der Münchner Kanzlei LLP Law und Patent Initiator und Veranstalter des Münchner Technologie-Stammtisches für Geschäftsführer aus dem Mittelstand.

Evelyn Münster

Mit einem Hintergrund in Medienkunst und Softwareentwicklung arbeitet Evelyn Münster seit mehr als einem Jahrzehnt als Designerin für Datenvisualisierung. Sie ist der Meinung, dass die Fähigkeiten von Menschen und Organisationen im Bereich der Datenkompetenz allzu oft ein limitierender Faktor für den Mehrwert ihrer Arbeit sind. Im Jahr 2016 initiierte sie den ersten wissenschaftlich fundierten Data Literacy Skill Test. Seit 2014 ist sie Expertin für Datenvisualisierung und unterstützt Technologiekunden bei der Entwicklung komplexer Datenprodukte, die oft auf maschinellem Lernen basieren, wie Steuerungs- und Entscheidungssysteme, Tools und Dashboards.

Christoph Nieberding

Als Praktiker verbrachte Christoph Nieberding bis 2013 seine Managementkarriere in der Technologie- und Softwareindustrie und stellte dabei immer wieder die Datenqualität, die Grenzen der Analysewerkzeuge und die bestehenden Möglichkeiten der visuellen Kommunikation in Frage. Er verfügt über umfangreiches Wissen zu Geschäftsprozessen und unterschiedlichen Managementfunktionen im Bereich Finanzen, Vertrieb, Risikomanagement und Business Development. Seine Leidenschaft ist es, den Wert der visuellen, datenbasierten Kommunikation zu steigern, komplexe Datenprodukte zu entwerfen und Menschen und Gemeinschaften auf dem Gebiet der Datenkompetenzen und des visuellen Arbeitens zu qualifizieren.